top of page

Thirst


Thirst

Psalms 63:1-4

You, God, are my God,

earnestly I seek you;

I thirst for you,

my whole being longs for you,

in a dry and parched land

where there is no water.

I have seen you in the sanctuary

and beheld your power and your glory.

Because your love is better than life,

my lips will glorify you.

I will praise you as long as I live,

and in your name I will lift up my hands.

Here David is in the Desert of Judah, and he compares his physical thirst for water to his spiritual longing for God. David “earnestly” seeks the presence of God every day he is alive. We can learn a lot from these two statements. People who have a relationship with God should earnestly, or purposefully seek a deeper relationship with Him. The more time we spend seeking God’s will for our lives, the clearer His path is for us.

David speaks of a thirst for God. The feeling of thirst can have a positive or negative connotation. It is a craving for a substance that your body, mind or soul is used to having. You can not miss something you have never had or experienced before. This is why experiencing the presence of God is so important for believers. Experiencing the presence of God will strengthen our relationship with Him. David gives us a great example of a DESIRE for a relationship with God, RECOGNITION of His power, and a RESPONSE to His love. David responds by committing to a lifetime of praising the name of God and lifting his hands in a declaration of His love.

Spend more time in God’s word purposefully seeking His will for your life. Thirst for His presence and he will supply your needs.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page